Cranberry Honey Bread

Honey Flax Seed Bread

Honey Flax Seed Bread (Medium setting)

Last week I spent some time playing with my new kitchen appliances like the food processor and food dehydrator as well as old appliances like my bread machine. I love the bread machine because it’s easy and quick. I love pushing a button and walking away to come back later and have a loaf, warm and ready to eat. Although there’s nothing like making bread by hand, the machine is a great appliance to have in your kitchen and requires little effort for great tasting breads.

The scent that fills the house when baking bread is always delightful. I wanted something simple that was healthy for a morning bread last weekend so I browsed through the pages of my favourite bread book – 300 Best Canadian Bread Machine Recipes – for a quick recipe and found the Honey Flax seed recipe. I loved the simpleness of the honey and flax seed pairing and I found myself craving the bread when it was all gone so this weekend, I made more. I wanted to add a little something fun this time around so I chose dried cranberries.

This recipe is awesome because there is no added fat such as butter or oil to make it moist, instead it relies on the ground flax seeds oil. Same goes for the sugar, there is no added sugar instead it uses raw honey which makes this recipe one of my favourites since I made it. I am particularly impressed with the moisture because of the ingredients used but it is a denser bread than I would normally prefer. The bread doesn’t look like anything exciting, partly because my machine doesn’t seem to distribute that type of dough evenly but it tastes delicious and really, who can say no to a bread with no added fat or sugar? NO ONE, that’s who! With the added cranberries as a sugar boost, this bread tastes decadent without even trying.

Cranberry Honey Bread

Cranberry Honey Bread (Light setting)

Ingredients (2 lb loaf):

  • 1 2/3 cups of water
  • 1/3 cup skim milk powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp of salt
  • 1/4 cup of raw honey
  • 3 3/4 cups of whole wheat bread machine flour
  • 1 cup of ground flaxseed
  • 2 1/4 tsp of instant dry yeast
  • 1/4 to 1/2 cup of dried cranberries (I used 1/4 but should have used 1/2)
  1. Add ingredients in order starting with the water into the baking pan
  2. Insert pan into machine chamber
  3. Select the Rapid two-hour basic cycle (I can choose between a Light, Medium and Dark setting; I chose Light)

When it is time to add the cranberries, most machines will alert you when it’s ok to add extras such as dried fruits. If your machine or cycle chosen doesn’t do that, simply add it when the first kneading cycle starts.

 

Cranberry Honey Bread

Cranberry Honey Bread

Cranberry Honey Bread

Cranberry Honey Bread

Categories: Bread, Flax Seeds, Food, Honey, My Photography, Recipes, Whole Wheat Flour | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Cranberry Honey Bread

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

