Remembrance Day Craft: The Poppy Flower

Every year on November 11th at 11 AM, Canadians honour and remember the soldiers who have served, and continue to serve Canada. Remembrance Day was first observed in 1919 throughout the British Commonwealth to commemorate armistice agreement that ended the First World War. The official symbol of Remembrance Day in Canada is the poppy flower and replica poppies are sold by the Royal Canadian Legion to provide assistance to Veterans.

Bar Pin secured with TLS

Bar Pin secured with TLS

Although I buy a poppy every year, I end up losing it a few hours later. It’s highly frustrating so I thought I’d try to make a poppy in clay. I will continue to buy poppies from the Royal Canadian Legion of course, but now I have a special poppy for that special day. November 11th is slightly more special for me because it’s also my birthday. (yay for 29!) I think the poppy ended up looking pretty good! I secured a bar pin in the back  with TLS so I could wear it.

Poppy Flower

Poppy Flower

The poppy flower should be worn on the left side of the chest, close to the heart.

The poppy flower should be worn on the left side of the chest, close to the heart.

Categories: Crafts, Polymer Clay, Special Occasions | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

