Fun with Polymer Clay

Last week I chose to explore a new art medium and decided to try polymer clay because of how versatile it can be. You can make things such as figurines, jewelry, key chains, miniature realistic foods and so many other things! It can bake easily in a home oven without taking a long time which is a plus. Polymer clay is a modeling clay that hardens when baked. You can purchase products like polyresin to make ponds and TLS for baked goods effects and so on. I chose to go with polymer clay because I wanted to make my mom a fish pond for her 50th and purchased a sampler pack of coloured clay. I got addicted quick and ended up making little fairy figurines. I am learning how to shape and position certain things but it’s very fun so far. I encourage you to try it! Here is what I made so far.

Baby dragon in its egg

Baby dragon in its egg

Fish pond things - 2 rainbow trouts, lily pads, cattails and a lotus. The bunny was for fun

Fish pond things – 2 rainbow trouts, lily pads, cattails and a lotus. The bunny was for fun

SAMSUNG

Rainbow Trout

SAMSUNG

Rainbow Trout mother and baby

SAMSUNG

Lily pads and lotus

SAMSUNG

Bunny

I had an idea a few days ago for a fairy series. Tiny fairies doing all kinds of things and the first one I had in mind was being cute under a flower. So I made her. This is how she turned out.

The Flower Fairy

The Flower Fairy

I made the wings with translucent clay and found out that I didn’t have to add the wings on that one as you can’t see them. Lesson learned!

In the making

In the making

But she looked so cute with wings!

The Sleeping Fairy is the second fairy I made. I learned that the colour I was using for the skin made her look like a pastry and I didn’t have to make both wings. It’s all about saving some clay. She was the tiniest braid I’ve ever braided and her little flower hat turned out awesome. I love her, she’s so tiny.

Sleeping Fairy

Sleeping Fairy

Sleeping fairy in the making

Sleeping fairy in the making

Added pastels to the wings

Added pastels to the wings

The Mushroom Fairy is the third fairy I made and I don’t really like her. She’s alright looking I guess but I would do a few things differently next time with her body and wings. I screwed up the wings on that one…

Mushroom Fairy

Mushroom Fairy

The Breakfast fairy is my favourite so far. I had fun making the detailed mini foods and assembling the whole thing. The wings are also a part I would do differently with this one. They’re just awkwardly places otherwise I’m happy with them. I used polyresin to fill the cup and pour over the pancakes and I used a glue gun to assemble everything. I feel like the glue gun might not have been the best option as you can see it but other than that, it looks adorable! Tiniest spoon and tiny blueberries! The bread loafs and the tiny donuts! ERMERGERD, I’m getting way too excited. I added a little bump on her cheek to make it look like she was eating and above all, enjoying it. I think I captured that look well! This was a delight to make.

Breakfast Fairy

Breakfast Fairy

In the making

In the making

In the making

In the making

Tiny blueberry bowl and spoon

Tiny blueberry bowl and spoon

Ready for baking

Ready for baking

From all angles

From all angles

Categories: Crafts, Fairy Series, Polymer Clay | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

