Apple Dumpling Muffins

I’ve had a cupcakes and muffins book for quite some time that I had only used once until yesterday. I originally bought the book because it was pink. The colour of a book is just as good of an excuse when you want it! I was in college and thought I would be fabulous at baking. Sadly, I discovered that I am quite average when it comes to baking. As long as I enjoy my own baking and nothing goes to waste; life is great!

Apple Dumpling Muffin

Apple Dumpling Muffin

I was making cranberry lemon muffins from a box when I noticed a few apples that were less than desirable looking in the refrigerator on back of the shelf. They were still good enough to eat but I knew I wouldn’t eat them so I went looking for an apple muffin recipe of some kind. I found the Apple Dumpling Muffins recipe but decided to change some of the ingredients such as all-purposed flour for whole wheat flour and corn syrup for maple syrup.

Ingredients

  • 3 small McIntosh apples
  • 3 cups of whole wheat pastry flour
  • 4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cloves
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 3/4 brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup melted butter
  • 3 eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1 1/2 cup of milk
  • 1/4 cup of maple syrup
  • 1/2 flax seeds

Optional

  • Vanilla icing
  • Heavy or whipped cream
  • Corn Syrup
  • Honey
  • Icing sugar
  • Fruit jams
  • Fresh fruits
  1. Peel apples and cut into small chunks.
  2. In a small bowl, mix the apple chunks with 1/4 cup of brown sugar and 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon. Put it on the side.
  3. In a large bowl, combine flour, baking powder, ground cloves, 1 teaspoon of cinnamon and 1/4 cup of brown sugar.
  4. Make a well in the centre of the dry ingredients and put the bowl aside.
  5. Melt the butter in a medium bowl.
  6. Add the lightly beaten eggs.
  7. Beat butter, eggs and milk together.
  8. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients.
  9. Grease a cupcake pan and half-fill each cup with batter.
  10. Add a teaspoon of the apple/brown sugar mixture and cover with the batter.
  11. Add half a teaspoon of the apple/brown sugar mix on top of the muffins.
  12. Sprinkle flax seeds and the rest of your brown sugar on top.
  13. Bake 15-20 minutes at 350°F
  14. Serve warm with maple or corn syrup and heavy or whipped cream.

 

Apple Dumpling Muffin with French Vanilla Icing and Maple Syrup

Apple Dumpling Muffin with French Vanilla Icing and Maple Syrup

Apple Dumpling Muffin with French Vanilla Icing and Maple Syrup

Apple Dumpling Muffin with French Vanilla Icing and Maple Syrup

 

Categories: Baking, Brown Sugar, Butter, Cinnamon, Food, Maple Syrup, My Photography, Recipes, Whole Wheat Flour | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Apple Dumpling Muffins

  1. I agree, that syrup and cream drizzled all over is making my tummy rumble! Beautiful! By the way what is French vanilla icing?

    • French vanilla flavoured cake icing or frosting – I never know which term is better to use.

  2. That syrup makes it look amazing.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

