Mini Sablé Cakes

Mini Sablé Cake with Milk Chocolate icing

Mini Sablé Cake with Milk Chocolate icing

In honour of Sugar Cookie Day, I wanted to make sugar cookies. It was going to be a huge thing because I like to go all out sometimes. The problem is that I’m not the best baker so sometimes my plan of making the bestest noms in the world fails epically. We still say epic, right?

My sugar cookies ended up being more like mini Sablé (French fancy word for shortbread) cakes than cookies so I went with it. It pairs well with French vanilla icing and hazelnut flavoured coffee. A bit too well actually… I may or may not have eaten 2 dozen mini cakes in one sitting.

Mini Sablé Cake with French Vanilla icing

Mini Sablé Cake with French Vanilla icing

I modified the Sugar Cookies recipe from AllRecipes.com. I chose that one because the cookie batter did not have to sit in the fridge for 24 hours.

Perhaps that was my greatest error but a tasty mistake it turned out to be. (I said this part in my pirate voice…I guess you can’t hear that but it sounded very dramatic.)

Ingredients:

  • 2 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 cup butter, softened
  • 1/4 cups + 1/2 teaspoon pure honey
  •  1 egg
  •  1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • sprinkles to taste.

In a small bowl, stir together flour, baking soda, and baking powder. Set aside.

In a large bowl, blend together the butter and honey until well mixed.

Beat in egg and vanilla.

Gradually blend in the dry ingredients.

Add sprinkles to taste and blend.

In a cupcake pan, add a tablespoon of dough into each ungreased cup.

Sprinkles the top of the cakes and bake at 375°F for 5-6 minutes or until golden. Be careful, they burn fast.

Let cool in the cupcake pan until fully cooled down before moving to a container. (This is important if you want to have some cake to eat later. They will crumble and die all over your appliances and floor. R.I.P fallen crumbly bits.)

Mini Sablé Cakes

Mini Sablé Cakes with French Vanilla and Milk Chocolate icing and sprinkles!

 

Categories: Baking, Butter, Cake, Food, Honey, My Photography | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

