A Day Trip to Sandbanks

Obligatory Beach Selfie with the Gopro Hero3+ Black Edition - Sandbanks, On

Obligatory Beach Selfie with the Gopro Hero3+ Black Edition – Sandbanks, On

Since I spent a week in Cuba in 2012, I’ve become a beach person. I’ve always been more of a snow bunny than a beach bunny so it was kind of surprising to me that in the middle of my 20’s my views on the beach changed. I still have to be careful in the sun as I get heat strokes very easily. So much so that in the middle of my Cuban trip, I fell ill and had to get pain killer shots. I felt amazing after that! I learned that drinking A LOT of water is needed and also cooling off in the water or shade is important. Obvious yes, but not always executed when loaded with alcohol and making memories.

Although I spend my working days at a beach, I somehow can’t get enough of it this year! I do have to wear a pirate costume at work though, which doesn’t allow for very much tanning in my mid section. With the beach on my mind for a while now, my SO decided to take me to Sandbanks, Ontario because we had never been and we had heard that the beach was amazing. Yesterday being a day off from work for the both of us, we took advantage and woke up at 3 AM to prepare. We left around 4 AM because I’m a crazy person like that. The break of dawn being my favourite part of the day, I was not disappointed when the sun started to rise as we drove down the highway.

Whenever we go to Southern Ontario and take Highway 7, we always try to stop at the Silver Lake picnic area. It’s one of those stops we’ve been stopping at for years and was one of the first we stopped at when we started dating. There’s just a lot of feels there so we make a point to stop when we can (mostly to use the washrooms.) That morning, it couldn’t have been more perfect for a picture with the steam rising off the lake and the sun just above it. It was majestic as fuck.

Silver Lake Sunrise

Silver Lake Sunrise – Canon Rebel T3i

With my tendency to arrive earlier than most people to events combined with my inability to contain my excitement, we arrived at Sandbanks beach WAY TOO EARLY. There might have been a slight miscalculation on my part as well… It gave us the opportunity to check out the scene before others took over which was nice. We got to play with our cameras for a while (His Gopro and my Rebel T3i) and then decided to go to Belleville for a bit to do some shopping.

From the Parking Lot to the Beach - Gopro Hero3+ Black Edition

From the Parking Lot to the Beach – Gopro Hero3+ Black Edition

Sandbanks, Ontario

Sandbanks, Ontario – 8 AM – Canon Rebel T3i

There's a bunch of humans over there... Canon Rebel T3i

There’s a bunch of humans over there… – Sandbanks, ON around 1 PM – Canon Rebel T3i

Couple Beach Selfie with the Gopro Hero3+ Black Edition

Couple Beach Selfie with the Gopro Hero3+ Black Edition

We drove back home later that day and took the Glenora ferry.

Gopro Hero3+ Black Edition

Gopro Hero3+ Black Edition

A picture of me taking a picture - Gopro Hero3+ Black Edition

A picture of me taking a picture – Gopro Hero3+ Black Edition

My SO and I on the ferry - Gopro Hero3+ Black Edition

My SO and I on the ferry – Gopro Hero3+ Black Edition

Cruisin' - Gopro Hero3+ Black Edition

Cruisin’ – Gopro Hero3+ Black Edition

Risking my life for a picture! Gopro Hero3+ Black Edition

Risking my life for a picture! Gopro Hero3+ Black Edition

So, I risked my life for this piece of crap picture…. – Canon Rebel T3i

We felt exhausted from the sun and also hungry so we decided to stop in Kingston for dinner. We had some food and drinks on a patio then headed home. It was a lovely day but I wish I was still lounging in the sun and swimming in the (cold as hell) Ontario Lake!

And now, moving on to the next adventure!

Categories: Beach, Dawn, Ideation, My Photography, My Words, Nature, Ontario, Southern Ontario, Water | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

