Maple Butter

Maple Butter

Maple Butter

There is nothing better than maple syrup so naturally, maple butter was meant to be. My mother used to buy Map-O-Spread which is a composed sugar spread and tastes like maple. It’s delicious on everything you think a sugary maple tasting spread is good on such as pancakes, toasts, from the jar with a spoon… The possibilities are endless.

I was (still am) also very fond of the Grenache Caramel and the Cinnamon Spread. Oh, the memories!

After receiving my large quantity of maple syrup from a friend of mine a while ago, because I order maple syrup and honey by the case (It’s serious business), she told me about maple butter and how her husband used to rave about Map-O-Spread until he tried real maple butter. Maple butter is just maple syrup boiled to the point that it’s smooth and butter-like. My friend then told me about her lazy way of making it because boiling maple syrup can be tricky and time consuming. She mixes butter and maple syrup and it’s so delicious!!! I HAD to try to make some or else my life would never be complete! (Keeping it dramatic, as always)

All you need for this maple butter recipe is, of course, maple syrup and also butter. I added a little bit of vanilla extract because I felt like there was something missing but it does not require it to taste delicious! It was my first time making maple butter and I also did not have one of those fancy candy thermometer so I had to pay close attention to the process. I think I removed the maple from the heat a bit too soon as my butter ended up a bit more liquid-y than I wanted but regardless of that detail, IT TASTES FRIGGIN’ FANTASTIC!

It tastes even more fantastic on the fresh baked bread I picked up at the bakery this morning!

Maple Butter on Fresh Italian Bread

Maple Butter on Fresh Italian Bread

 Ingredients:

  • 3 cups of pure maple syrup
  • 1 stick of butter, cut in small pieces
  • 3/4 tsp vanilla extract (optional)
  1. Boil the maple syrup to soft ball stage (235 celcius)
  2. Remove from heat
  3. Add butter
  4. Beat for 4 minutes with electric beater
  5. Add vanilla extract if desired
  6. Pour into containers
Maple Butter and Toast

Maple Butter and Toast

 

EDIT: After spending a night in the fridge

Thick Maple Butter

Thick Maple Butter

Thick Maple Butter

Thick Maple Butter

Thick Maple Butter

Thick Maple Butter

Categories: Baking, Butter, Food, Food Experiment, Maple Syrup, My Photography | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Maple Butter

  1. Wow this looks so yummy and beautiful, I will give it a go!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

