Assorted Chocolate Truffles (made with Caramel Baileys)

Assorted Chocolate Truffles

Assorted Chocolate Truffles

Truffles are so delicious yet so expensive! I thought they required oodles of tools and time to make but it turns out that it takes almost nothing to make truffles, so that’s great news for my lazy ass and demanding taste buds! Decadent desserts are seriously my kriptonite. I will die from a sugar overdose, I’m ready to bet my life on it!

Bacon cooking in maple syrup!

Bacon cooking in maple syrup!

I love baking desserts and I’m getting more interested in cake decorating and such aspects of baking. I figured it was only a matter of time since I always loved the Arts in general from painting to performing to writing, I just can’t get enough of all the art around me, even the artsy fartsy one. A for effort, you know?! Food Art is a logical step humankind took, I think.

I decided to make some chocolate truffles this week for my pirate crew (just the excuse I gave myself). I followed the truffle recipe from Joy of Baking and then I coated the truffles with different yums. It was a lot of fun to make and disgustingly delicious. I made  different kinds of truffles and sampling them all was such an awful chore! In all seriousness, that’s how my stomach felt after but my taste buds were having a huge party, so as long as they’re happy. Who needs a stomach anyway?!

Ingredients that I chose to use for the chocolate truffles:

  • 1 cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup of 35% heavy cream
  • 2 tbsp of unsalted butter
  • 2 tbsp of Caramel Baileys
Truffle mix after a night in the fridge

Truffle mix after a night in the fridge

 

This is where it gets interesting for me. My SO had the idea of including maple bacon and I thought it was a fantastic idea. So I gathered my maple syrup and bacon and made some maple candied bacon. I chose to do 4 different types of truffles because I’m a ridiculous human being who can never make up her mind about anything! I actually had planned to make 6 but didn’t have enough truffle mix… Without further ado, my chocolate truffles:

 

 Classic Chocolate Truffles

Nothing too fancy, just a delicious classic chocolate truffle coated with unsweetened cocoa powder. We all love this one!

Classic Chocolate Truffle

Classic Chocolate Truffle

Caramel Chocolate Truffles

I surrounded half a Caramel with the truffle mixture to get a Caramel centre. I then coated the truffle with semi-sweet chocolate and drizzled (or tried to drizzle, I should say) melted Caramel on top.

Caramel Chocolate Truffle

Caramel Chocolate Truffle

Caramel Chocolate Truffle cut in half

Caramel Chocolate Truffle cut in half

Toasted Coconut & Chocolate Chili Truffles

Since I only had coconut flakes, I had to toast them myself. I followed the Stove Top Method from My Baking Addiction. For this truffle, I mixed toasted coconut flakes with the truffle mixture when making my truffle. I then coated the truffle with semi-sweet chocolate to which I added a (few) pinch of chili powder for a spicy kick and, I decorated the top with toasted coconut flakes.

Toasted Coconut & Chocolate Chili Truffle

Toasted Coconut & Chocolate Chili Truffle

Maple Bacon Chocolate Truffles

I maple candied some bacon following the lovely recipe from Savory Lotus. I made the candied bacon last night so it would be ready for assembly today. I chopped the bacon in little bits and rolled the truffles in it. It’s so disgusting, you’ll hate it!

Maple Bacon Chocolate Truffle

Maple Bacon Chocolate Truffle

Categories: Bacon, Butter, Chocolate, Food, Maple Syrup, My Photography, Raw, Recipes | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Assorted Chocolate Truffles (made with Caramel Baileys)

  1. I went to a raw foods truffle making class and to make them from home makes them so much cheaper! These ones last 6 months too!

    • That class sounds very interesting!

      Considering how much I paid for the ingredients and how many I made compared to how many I’d get for roughly the same price, I thought it was a good deal. It was time consuming and messy though.

      I knew I could freeze them but for that long, omg that is exciting! Thanks for sharing that info!

      I want to try with different flavours of Baileys as well.

  2. Yummy! 🙂

    • I just ate one and I have to say, be careful they are deadly! ahah

      • Chocolate truffles are my favourite way of eating chocolate, so I will definitely try it. 🙂
        Best wishes,
        Alice

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

