Chocolate Chip Cookie For One

Sometimes in the summer (I know it’s only May but my apartment already feels like a heated death trap!) it’s too hot to turn on the oven but I still want treats like chocolate chip cookies. I could walk to the store and buy a box of cookies but that would mean actually putting effort into it and boxed cookies are not nearly as fun and delicious as making some yourself. I’ve been experimenting with different recipes in the past years and every time I made a mugged treat, it failed dramatically. The consistency and/or the taste was just so awful.

Chocolate Chip Cookie For One

Chocolate Chip Cookie For One

I really wanted a moist, warm cookie last night and decided to try to make a chocolate chip cookie in a mug again but using different ingredients than I had in the past such as Greek yogurt instead of butter and honey instead of granulated sugar. Most recipes I researched online had a lot of both brown and white sugar and I didn’t like that so I kept the brown sugar and substituted the granulated sugar for honey (Be careful with honey as a lot of store bought ones are just diluted corn syrup with caramel colouring and the same recipe is used for most pancake syrups, if you were not aware. Yes, you are being lied to! *shocked face*) After trying those ingredients, I came to the conclusion that it tasted disgusting so I made another one using granulated sugar and butter. I regret nothing!

My SO conveniently ate all of my chocolate chips without me noticing (well, he left me 5 chips, very generous!) so when I got ready to make a cookie last night, I had to improvise on the chocolate part. I had one square of semi-sweet baker’s chocolate so I chopped some up and used those instead. Since I have always added semi-sweet chocolate chips in the past and I always thought it didn’t taste chocolaty enough for me, the baker’s chocolate turned out to be exactly what the recipe needed.

Ingredients

  • 1 tbsp unsalted butter
  • 1 tbsp granulated sugar
  • 1 tbsp packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/8 table salt
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 3 tbsp whole wheat flour
  • 1 tbsp chopped semi sweet baker’s chocolate (1/2 tbsp if you want it less chocolaty)
  1. In a mug, microwave the butter until fully melted.
  2. Mix in the sugars, vanilla extract and salt until well combined.
  3. Mix in the yolk and blend until the yolk fully disappears.
  4. Mix in the flour until well blended.
  5. Add the chocolate and blend a little.
  6. Microwave for 40-60 seconds. Do not overcook or the cookie will be dry.

Confession time: I had two of those bad boys last night. I paid for it this morning but whatever, it was worth it! I noticed that after 40 seconds, it still looked wet on top so I put it back. After 50 seconds, I dug into the cookie dough which ended up being cooked inside. I cooked the first one perfectly but the second one was left a bit too long and it ended up being a bit dry so be careful with that. It won’t look cooked until it’s too late, kind of like an avocado (Not ripe, Not ripe, RIPE, Too late.) Don’t be afraid to check with the spoon and taste it after 40 seconds.

 

Chocolate Chip Cookie For One

Chocolate Chip Cookie For One

Categories: Baking, Brown Sugar, Butter, Chocolate, Cookies, Food, Food Experiment, Granulated Sugar, My Photography, Recipes, Whole Wheat Flour | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip Cookie For One

  1. This is a very lovely idea!

  2. Wow I love this so much and I am DEFINITELY trying it! Thank you so much!!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

