No-Bake Cranberry Flax Energy Bites

I am going backcountry camping tomorrow for a few days and saw the perfect opportunity to experiment with a new trail fuel recipe inspired by my trail mix. Since my last attempt at making energy bars failed in the sense that it needed to be kept refrigerated, I decided to explore other options. The dairy was not very appealing to add to the bars since I don’t trust dairy after a day of hiking in the sun. I refined my recipe and it turned out great! I will just have to wait and see how it handles traveling now. Regardless, having energy bars like these on hand at home or the office is always a great idea so even if I can’t backcountry camp with these bad boys, I can still enjoy them!

No-Bake Cranberry Flax Energy Bites

No-Bake Cranberry Flax Energy Bites

Ingredients:

  •  2 cups of Quick Oats
  •  2 scoops of vanilla protein powder
  • 1/4 cup of Puffed wheat cereal (You can also use puffed rice cereal)
  • 1/4 tsp of Sea salt
  • 1/2 cup of Natural Peanut Butter
  • 1/3 cup of Real honey
  • 1/2  cup of chopped Dried Cranberries
  • 1/2 cup of Brown Flax Seeds
  • 1/2 cup of chopped Raisins
  • 1/4 chopped Almonds
  • 3 Tbsp of water
  1. In a large bowl blend 1 1/2 cups of oats, the protein powder, the puffed cereal and the salt into a flour. I used a magic bullet for this process.
  2. Beat in the peanut butter, honey and water with an electric beater.
  3. Add the cranberries and raisins and blend with a spoon.
  4. Add the rest of the oats, the  flax seeds and the almonds and blend with the spoon again. (mixture will look like a crumbled cookie dough)
  5. Empty your bowl on a piece of plastic wrap. Fold the extra plastic on top and press with your rolling pin so the dough forms a 8×8 square
  6. Cut the dough into bars or bites and freeze for 45 minutes.
  7. Keep in air-tight container.

You can add a 1/4 cup of mini chocolate chips if you feel a bit naughty. I chose to pass this time because I already have Double Fudge Brownie energy bars and wine gums as treats on my trip. This recipe would also work quite well with added sunflower or pumpkin seeds (or both!). For a different tasting bar, I would suggest dried cherries instead of cranberries and raisins but the whole point is to have fun mixing and matching ingredients!

No-Bake Cranberry Flax Energy Bites

No-Bake Cranberry Flax Energy Bites

Categories: Adventure Food, Food, Food Experiment, Honey, My Photography, Peanut Butter, Protein Powder, Recipes | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

