No-Bake Energy Bites and Balls

Baking is always such an adventure for me because I never follow recipes. I substitute ingredients often and sometimes it just doesn’t work out. Since Spring has arrived, I’ve been looking for easy protein packed recipes. Not because I’m a healthy mother fucker but simply because my body is on constant overdrive and I end up crashing fast if I do not have the proper nutrients. Since I plan on hiking and trekking more this summer, and I’m already bored with my (extremely delicious) protein bars, I decided to experiment and see what I could come up with that was a bit more fun but still relatively healthy.

Why can’t I buy pre-made bars like everybody else? First, baking is super fun and second, my biggest issue is texture. After the texture comes the taste and some of the store-bought protein bars are packed with added sugar and preservatives which is not exactly what I’m looking for.

I made some bites and balls with protein powder and energy bars which ended up working awesomely and now I’m even more excited to go trekking this weekend!

EDIT: After taking the bites on a day hike, I found out that they were better kept refrigerated as they melted a little bit together. During a hot summer day, I do not see this recipe working out. I am still going to make them for home snacks because they are seriously delicious!

Peanut Butter Chocolate Bites

Peanut Butter Chocolate Bites

Peanut Butter Chocolate Bites

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup of Quick Oats
  • 1 scoop of Protein powder (I used vanilla ice cream.)
  • NOTE:  If you are not using a vanilla flavoured powder, add 1 tsp of vanilla extract.
  • 1/2 cup of Puffed wheat cereal (You can also use puffed rice cereal)
  • A pinch of Sea salt
  • 1/2 cup of Natural Peanut Butter (I used chunky PB but you can use smooth. You can also substitute for a different type of butter such as almond butter.)
  • 1/2 cup of Real honey (I have both summer and autumn honey. The autumn honey is darker and seems sweeter to me so I used that one. Both types are great.)
  • 1 Tbsp of plain Greek yogurt
  • 1 Tbsp of 1% Milk (You can use any type of milk such as almond milk or a non-dairy milk product of your choice)

Topping:

  1. Line parchment paper in a 8×8 pan.
  2. Blend the oats, protein powder, puffed cereal and salt into a flour. I used a magic bullet for this process.
  3. Add the peanut butter, honey, milk and yogurt (add your vanilla extract if it applies).
  4. Blend well together until the dough turns into a cookie dough consistency.
  5. Press into the pan and pop in the freezer for 15 minutes.
  6. Melt your chocolate chips in the meantime and then drizzle over the pressed dough and skip to number 10 because you are not using Promax bars for your chocolate.
  7. If you are using the Promax bars like me:
  8. Melt 2 bars on low heat with the milk.
  9. Stir until the mixture is liquid enough to spread over the pressed dough.
  10. Pop in the freezer for 30 minutes.
  11. Cut in pieces and enjoy!

They taste a lot like Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups

You can also make balls instead of bars or square bites with this recipe.

Chocolate Coconut Balls / Chocolate Granola Balls

Chocolate Coconut Balls / Chocolate Granola Balls

Chocolate Coconut Balls / Chocolate Granola Balls

Ingredients:

  1. Cut each of your bars into 4 pieces.
  2. Form a ball with each pieces.
  3. Dip balls into the Greek yogurt.
  4. Dip balls into shredded coconut or the ground Kashi cereal mix. (I did 8 of each!)
  5. Pop in the freezer for 30 minutes.
  6. Keep in the fridge and enjoy energy packed on the go treats!
Energy Bites and Balls

Energy Bites and Balls

 

 

 

Categories: Adventure Food, Food, Food Experiment, Greek Yogurt, My Photography, Peanut Butter, Protein Powder, Recipes | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

