Small Waterfall at Fitzroy Provincial Park

A lot of parks have delayed their openings this month due to floods and other reasons but that doesn’t stop me from venturing into the unknown. On Sunday, I visited the not-yet-open Fitzroy Provincial Park. Since it was raining (Yes, I go hiking in the rain. I’m crazy like that.) and my Canon Rebel T3i is not very functional when wet, I chose to leave it at home. Just like every other time where I chose to leave it behind: something awesome happened. I never learn apparently. Even my professors in college repeatedly told me to carry my equipment at all times: I still don’t do it. What a great photographer I am! I blame it on me being a lazy bum. This equipment gets quite heavy to carry through the woods to be honest. Add a backpack full of food and other gear and you are in for quite the workout! I love it but still want to whine about it sometimes. (#firstworldproblems – I am entitled to whine about shit that doesn’t require whining about.)

As I was saying, something awesome happened on Sunday: I found a beautiful but small waterfall. I am not sure when during the year it’s best to view this waterfall as it looks as though it’s made from the snow thawing in the Spring but I could not be positive on that. There is no real information out there that I could find on this waterfall. If anyone has real information such as a name, I’d be happy to include it. Of course, I plan on going back so I will be able to get the information once the park opens as no information or maps were posted on the bulletin boards.

I went back last night, making my SO race against daylight to get there during the leftover daylight after work. The time stamped on my photos states 7:50 PM and that’s about right. I caught the sun going down and reflecting off the rocks for a big 80 seconds! I have to also mention that these photos are my very first long exposure photography and I am pretty happy with the results!

Small Waterfall at Fitzroy Provincial Park - Black and White

Small Waterfall at Fitzroy Provincial Park – Black and White

Small Waterfall at Fitzroy Provincial Park

Small Waterfall at Fitzroy Provincial Park

Small Waterfall at Fitzroy Provincial Park

Small Waterfall at Fitzroy Provincial Park

f/8 – 1/3 sec. – ISO 100

Categories: Fitzroy, Long Exposure, My Photography, Ontario, Photography Experiment, Tree, Water, Wood | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

