Frozen Banana Bites

My love of foods that come in tiny portions is endless. Take a cupcake for example; it’s already a miniature version of a cake, a cake in a cup as it literally says, yet a mini cupcake

Honey and Raisins Frozen Banana Bite

Honey and Raisins Frozen Banana Bite

excites me more than a cupcake. It’s bite sized! I can just put it in my mouth, bite once and move on. A cupcake requires AT LEAST 3 bites, and all that chewing is exhausting!

My significant other brought home a bunch of bananas this week, so I decided to look up recipes to use them. I have many recipes for ripe bananas but none with fresh ones. I attempted to make one ingredient banana ice cream once and failed horribly but I always liked the idea of the frozen banana as a snack. I kept that in mind and after searching a little bit online I found that frozen banana bites were a thing.

This recipe doesn’t take long to make and it’s extra delicious. It can be as nice or naughty as you’d like!

Ingredients:

  • Fresh bananas

How many bananas you will need will depend on how many bites you want. Cut the banana into 1/2 inch slices. For the toppings, you can use a wide variety of ingredients. Anything that goes with ice cream technically goes well with these. If you research online most banana bites are dipped in chocolate and some in peanut butter. Some chocolate dipped bites are decorated with sprinkles, nuts, fruits, etc which just adds deliciousness and personality to your bites. You can really be creative with this recipe!

Dips:

  • Melted milk chocolate
  • Real honey
  • Greek yogurt (I used plain but vanilla or any other flavour would work as well)
  • Real crunchy peanut butter (none of that added sugar Kraft stuff, just peanut goodness)

I dipped my banana pieces into the 4 different dips using a fork to help get the excess off. Be careful not to poke your banana to death. I then put the bites onto a cookie sheet layered with parchment paper and I sprinkled some toppings on it. I unfortunately didn’t have any nuts available so I couldn’t make a chocolate-nuts covered bites but I found other things to work with.

Toppings:

  • Fresh, dried cranberries
  • Fresh raisins
  • Rainbow Sprinkles
  • Shredded Coconut

Once you have dipped, topped and laid your bites on the cookie sheet, you pop them in the freezer for a few hours. Once they’re ready, you can transfer them to a container and you have bite sized yums at your disposal!

Frozen Banana Bites - Chocolate and Coconut bite cut in half

Frozen Banana Bites – Chocolate and Coconut bite cut in half

Assorted Frozen Banana Bites

Assorted Frozen Banana Bites – Crunchy Peanut Butter, Chocolate & Coconut, Greek Plain Yogurt & Cranberry, Chocolate & Sprinkles, Honey & Raisins

Assorted Frozen Banana Bites

Assorted Frozen Banana Bites

Categories: Banana, Chocolate, Food, Food Experiment, My Photography, Peanut Butter, Raw, Recipes | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

