Mini Baked Cake-Donuts

I spend too much money buying donuts at Tim Hortons so I decided to try making some myself. Since pretty much everything about donuts is pure delicious evil, I looked for alternatives in the baking process as well as ingredients. I found a few recipes that called for baking the donuts but none really had the ingredients I was looking for. Once I found this delicious sounding recipe over at Baker Bettie,  I knew I had found something I could work with. I experimented with baking times and ingredients and I think I made something decent but I still find it tastes more like a cake than a donut so I shall call these mini baked cake-donuts.

Ingredients

  • 2 1/2 Tbsp plain Greek yogurt
  • 1/4 real honey
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup of milk
  • 1 tsp of vanilla extract
  • 2 tsp of baking powder
  • a pinch of salt
  • 1 tsp of any spice you might like such as allspice, cinnamon, nutmeg, pumpkin spice, etc…
  • 1 1/2 cups of whole wheat flour

Preheat oven: 325ºF

  1. Lightly butter the mini donut or muffin pan (I used a muffin pan)
  2. In a medium bowl, mix the Greek yogurt and the honey until combined.
  3. Add the egg, the milk and the vanilla. Mix until combined.
  4. Add the baking powder, the pinch of salt and the allspice. Mix until combined.
  5. Add the flour and mix until just combined.
  6. Pipe mixture into the pan. (I used a plastic bag with the tip cut off. I piped twice but once should be plenty as I find my end result to be too dough-y)
  7. Bake 13-16 minutes. A toothpick will come out clean when ready.

Topping options:

  • Glazed (Powered sugar and milk or water)
  • Cinnamon and Sugar
  • Chocolate – Add some nuts, sprinkles or pieces of your favourite chocolate bar!
  • Shredded Coconut
  • Powered Sugar
  • Use your imagination!
Mini Baked Cake-Donuts.  Milk Chocolate with Sprinkles, Cinnamon and Sugar, Coconut and Powered Sugar

Mini Baked Cake-Donuts.
Milk Chocolate with Sprinkles, Cinnamon and Sugar, Coconut and Powered Sugar

Categories: Baking, Chocolate, Cinnamon, Food Experiment, Granulated Sugar, Greek Yogurt, Honey, My Photography, Whole Wheat Flour | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

